Retatrutide Pen: What We Know About the Injection Device (2026)

Does retatrutide come in a pen? No commercial pen exists yet. Learn what Phase 3 TRIUMPH trials confirm, what grey-market pens are, and what to expect at launch.

Sleek pharmaceutical auto-injector pen on clinical surface with indigo gradient lighting

Investigational Status: No Commercial Retatrutide Pen Exists

Retatrutide is investigational and not FDA-approved as of May 2026. Eli Lilly has not released a branded retatrutide auto-injector pen for public sale. Phase 3 TRIUMPH trials administer it subcutaneously, but no specific device has been publicly disclosed. Grey-market pen products circulating online are NOT Eli Lilly products. This article answers what is actually known so you can make informed decisions.

Retatrutide (LY3437943) - Investigational

Retatrutide Pen: What We Know About the Injection Device

The retatrutide pen is one of the most searched questions about this investigational triple-agonist drug. Short answer: no FDA-approved commercial pen exists today. Eli Lilly's Phase 3 TRIUMPH trials use subcutaneous injection weekly, but have not disclosed the specific delivery device. Grey-market pens circulating online are Chinese export products, not Lilly-manufactured. This guide covers what is confirmed, what is reasonably expected, and what to avoid.

Key Takeaways

  • No commercial retatrutide pen exists: Eli Lilly has not FDA-approved or publicly released any branded retatrutide auto-injector as of May 2026
  • Phase 3 TRIUMPH trials confirm subcutaneous injection once weekly, but the specific device format has not been disclosed by Lilly
  • Grey-market pens are not Lilly products: The "SALKALLI" DailyMed entry is a Chinese export-only product (Guangzhou Yixin Co.), not FDA-approved for US use
  • Phase 3 TRIUMPH-4 results showed 28.7% weight loss at 68 weeks on 12mg, the strongest obesity trial result on record
  • When approved (2027 earliest), a once-weekly auto-injector similar to Lilly's KwikPen format is widely anticipated
  • Use the retatrutide pharmacokinetic calculator to plan dosing regardless of delivery format

28.7%

Phase 3 TRIUMPH-4 Weight Loss

~6 days

Half-Life (Once-Weekly Dosing)

12mg

Maximum Dose (Phase 3)

2027

Earliest Likely US Launch

Does Retatrutide Come in a Pen?

Yes, retatrutide is administered via subcutaneous pen injector in Phase 3 clinical trials and in grey-market research channels. Eli Lilly's TRIUMPH trials describe once-weekly subcutaneous injection. A commercial branded auto-injector pen is expected at FDA approval, but no device specification has been officially released by Lilly as of May 2026.

The short version: injection format is confirmed; the branded commercial pen device is not yet real. Users searching "retatrutide pen" are typically encountering either (a) research peptide pens from grey-market sources, or (b) the DailyMed "SALKALLI" entry, which is a Chinese export product, not an Eli Lilly product. Neither represents what Lilly will ship at commercial launch.

What Kind of Pen Will Retatrutide Use?

Eli Lilly has not publicly disclosed the commercial device format for retatrutide. Based on the drug class and Lilly's existing manufacturing infrastructure, the most widely anticipated format is an auto-injector pen similar to the KwikPen used for tirzepatide (Zepbound/Mounjaro). This is an inference from precedent, not a confirmed specification.

Grey-market pens, including the DailyMed "SALKALLI" entry (export only, not FDA-approved, registered by Guangzhou Yixin Cross-border E-commerce Co., Ltd.), describe a 2.25mL prefilled pen at 30mg concentration. These are NOT Eli Lilly products and carry no FDA manufacturing oversight. They are referenced here only to describe what grey-market devices look like, not as recommendations.

How Does Retatrutide Compare to the Zepbound KwikPen Format?

Tirzepatide (Zepbound) uses Eli Lilly's KwikPen auto-injector: a prefilled once-weekly pen delivering subcutaneous injection into the abdomen, thigh, or upper arm, with four doses per pen. This is the most direct analog for what a future retatrutide pen is likely to resemble, given Lilly manufactures both compounds.

The similarities in mechanism (both are peptide-based GLP-class drugs administered once weekly subcutaneously), developer (Eli Lilly), and dose route make the KwikPen the natural reference point. When tirzepatide was in Phase 3 trials, similar silence preceded the KwikPen device announcement. That pattern is normal for pharmaceutical development, not a warning sign.

Retatrutide Phase 3 Trials: What the Administration Format Tells Us

Published Phase 3 protocols for retatrutide describe "subcutaneous injection, once weekly" as the route and frequency. That is the extent of what Eli Lilly has publicly confirmed about the administration format. The Phase 2 trial (Jastreboff et al., NEJM, 2023) used the same route. Subcutaneous delivery means injection under the skin, typically into the abdomen, thigh, or upper arm.

For injection site technique and rotation guidance, see the retatrutide injection sites guide. The sites confirmed as appropriate for GLP-1 class drugs (abdomen, thigh, upper arm) apply to retatrutide's subcutaneous route regardless of whether delivery is via pen or syringe.

TRIUMPH Program Overview

The TRIUMPH program is Eli Lilly's Phase 3 clinical development program for retatrutide, covering obesity, obstructive sleep apnea, and knee osteoarthritis. Key facts for understanding the device context:

  • Trial structure: Four or more core trials (TRIUMPH-1 through TRIUMPH-4 plus TRIUMPH-Outcomes), enrolling 5,800 or more participants across programs
  • Administration: Subcutaneous injection, once weekly, dose escalation to 12mg maximum
  • TRIUMPH-4 results (December 2025): Participants on 12mg retatrutide lost an average of 28.7% body weight at 68 weeks, versus 2.1% on placebo (Giblin et al., PMID 41090431)
  • Phase 2 comparison: 24.2% body weight loss at 48 weeks on 12mg (Jastreboff et al., NEJM 2023) - a different trial, shorter duration, earlier data
  • TRIUMPH-Outcomes: Active Phase 3 trial (NCT06383390), estimated 10,000 participants, completion February 2029 - investigating cardiovascular outcomes
Side-by-side schematic showing retatrutide vial plus syringe versus expected auto-injector pen device

What the Phase 3 Device Disclosure Gap Means

Eli Lilly has not disclosed pen device specifications for retatrutide because the drug is not yet approved, and device details are part of the commercial product launch package. Drug manufacturers typically release the delivery system design alongside or shortly before FDA approval, not during clinical trials.

When tirzepatide was in Phase 3 trials (2020-2022), Lilly similarly did not disclose the KwikPen format ahead of approval. The KwikPen became public knowledge at the Mounjaro FDA approval in 2022. The same pattern is expected for retatrutide. Silence on device specs is normal, not a gap in the evidence base.

Track Your Retatrutide Dosing Curve

The retatrutide pharmacokinetic calculator models your dose accumulation, peak and trough concentrations, and steady-state timeline. Works with any delivery format: vial, syringe, or future pen.

Open Calculator →

Grey-Market Retatrutide Pens: What Exists Today

Multiple "retatrutide pens" circulate through grey-market channels. None of them are Eli Lilly products. Knowing exactly what you're looking at when you encounter one of these is the only way to assess the real risk.

What Is the SALKALLI DailyMed Entry?

DailyMed, the National Library of Medicine's drug label database, hosts a label entry titled "SALKALLI retatrutide pen 30mg injection, solution." The record shows:

  • Labeler: Guangzhou Yixin Cross-border E-commerce Co., Ltd. (a Chinese export company)
  • NDC: 84778-108
  • Marketing status: Export only
  • Marketing start date: October 29, 2025
  • Not manufactured by Eli Lilly
  • Not FDA-approved for use in the United States

The DailyMed entry ranks second organically for "retatrutide pen" searches, which is why so many users encounter it and assume it represents a legitimate commercial product. It does not. It is a grey-market Chinese export product whose label describes a 2.25mL prefilled pen at 30mg concentration, SC injection into abdomen, thigh, or upper arm. That device information is not authoritative for what Lilly will ultimately ship.

This Is Not an Eli Lilly Product

The SALKALLI DailyMed entry is a grey-market Chinese export product. It is not manufactured by Eli Lilly, not FDA-approved for US use, and not the clinical trial supply retatrutide. Do not use DailyMed's presence of this label as evidence that retatrutide has been commercially approved or that this pen is safe and regulated.

Research Peptide Pens vs Clinical Trial Supply

The "retatrutide pen" circulating in research and grey-market channels typically refers to one of two formats: (1) refillable injector pens filled with reconstituted retatrutide peptide from lyophilized vials, or (2) prefilled pens from grey-market manufacturers like the SALKALLI product above.

Neither format has FDA manufacturing oversight. Documented risks include inaccurate concentration labeling, contamination, counterfeit products, and improper cold-chain storage during shipping. The retatrutide quality crisis in the research-peptide market (2025-2026) includes confirmed counterfeit incidents with products testing far below labeled potency.

For users already working with vial-format retatrutide, the retatrutide reconstitution guide covers the mixing process with bacteriostatic water. The injection sites guide covers subcutaneous technique regardless of delivery format.

How the Retatrutide Pen Will Likely Work When Approved

No commercial pen specifications have been released. What follows is informed expectation from confirmed trial data and drug-class precedent, not Eli Lilly disclosures. Each point is labeled so you know what's confirmed vs. inferred.

Expected Device Features

Confirmed in Phase 3 protocols:

Once-weekly subcutaneous injection. Sites: abdomen, thigh, upper arm. Dose range 2mg to 12mg with 4-week titration intervals.

Inferred from drug-class precedent (not confirmed):

Auto-injector pen format, consistent with Lilly's KwikPen manufacturing. Likely 4 doses per pen (matching tirzepatide). Retractable needle. Dose dial or click mechanism for dose selection.

Not confirmed, do not treat as fact:

Specific needle gauge, cartridge volume, pen dimensions, doses-per-pen count, or any branded product name. None of these have been publicly released by Eli Lilly.

Vial vs Pen: Which Format Does Retatrutide Currently Use?

Currently, outside of clinical trials, retatrutide is accessed exclusively through grey-market or research-peptide channels where it comes as a lyophilized powder in vials. This requires reconstitution with bacteriostatic water and delivery via insulin syringe, which involves a mixing step before each injection cycle.

A commercial auto-injector pen would eliminate the reconstitution step entirely. The drug would come pre-mixed in a stable prefilled cartridge, with the user simply dialing the dose and injecting. This is the format Lilly uses for tirzepatide (Zepbound KwikPen) and is the most likely commercial format for retatrutide at launch.

For users currently using vials, see the full retatrutide reconstitution guide for the complete mixing protocol. The retatrutide pharmacokinetic calculator helps plan dose timing and accumulation curves regardless of whether you are using a vial or a pen.

Using the Retatrutide Calculator with Any Delivery Format

GLP3Planner's retatrutide pharmacokinetic calculator is delivery-format agnostic. Whether you are using a vial and syringe today or planning for a future pen, what drives the pharmacokinetics is the dose amount and timing, not the physical device.

Retatrutide's approximately 6-day half-life is what makes once-weekly dosing appropriate. The calculator shows your dose accumulation curve, when you reach steady state (typically 4 to 5 weeks on a consistent schedule), and your peak and trough concentration levels across the titration schedule. This matters regardless of pen or syringe.

For titration context, see the retatrutide dosing guide, which covers the full 2mg to 12mg escalation protocol with timing guidance.

Doctor Explains Retatrutide: Mechanism and Administration

Dr. Alex Tatem walks through retatrutide's mechanism, Phase 3 results, and what an injector-based delivery system will likely mean in practice.

Safety Considerations for Pen-Format Injection

Whether using a pen or a syringe, subcutaneous injection of any GLP-1 class drug requires attention to a consistent set of safety practices:

  • Temperature storage: Retatrutide is temperature-sensitive. Refrigerate between uses. Do not freeze. Allow the pen to reach room temperature before injecting to reduce discomfort
  • Visual inspection: Do not inject if the solution appears cloudy, discolored, or contains visible particles. The solution should be clear and colorless to slightly yellow
  • Single-dose pens: Once-weekly single-dose auto-injector pens are not designed for reuse. Reusing a single-dose pen risks contamination and dosing error
  • Site rotation: Rotate injection sites each week. Do not inject into the same spot consecutively. Common sites are the abdomen, outer thigh, and upper arm
  • Sharps disposal: Dispose of used needles and pens in an FDA-cleared sharps container, not the household waste

For a full injection technique walkthrough and site rotation schedule, see the retatrutide injection sites guide.

Anatomical diagram showing three retatrutide injection sites: abdomen, outer thigh, and upper arm

When Will the Retatrutide Pen Be Available?

The realistic timeline for a commercial retatrutide pen in the US depends on three sequential steps: Phase 3 trial completion, New Drug Application (NDA) submission by Eli Lilly, and FDA review. Current status:

  • TRIUMPH-4 results available: December 2025 readout showing 28.7% weight loss at 68 weeks (Giblin et al., PMID 41090431)
  • Additional TRIUMPH trials: Expected to report results through 2026, including TRIUMPH-Outcomes (cardiovascular endpoints, NCT06383390, completion Feb 2029)
  • NDA submission timing: Eli Lilly must compile the full trial package before submitting. This typically occurs 6-12 months after the final pivotal trial readouts
  • FDA review timeline: Standard review takes 10-12 months; Priority Review could shorten this to 6 months
  • Realistic estimate: 2027 at the earliest for US commercial availability, assuming Lilly files in late 2026

For the most current trial status, see the TRIUMPH Phase 3 trials guide. For FDA approval status updates, see is retatrutide FDA approved.

Frequently Asked Questions About the Retatrutide Pen

Does retatrutide come in a pen form?

Retatrutide is administered via subcutaneous injection in Phase 3 TRIUMPH trials, described as once-weekly subcutaneous injection by Eli Lilly. Grey-market prefilled pens exist but are not Eli Lilly products. No FDA-approved commercial retatrutide pen exists as of May 2026. A commercial auto-injector pen is expected at FDA approval.

What is the retatrutide pen dose per injection?

Phase 3 TRIUMPH trials use escalating subcutaneous doses: starting at 2mg weekly, titrating to 4mg, 8mg, and 12mg every 4 weeks. The maximum dose is 12mg weekly. These are dose amounts confirmed in published protocols, not specifications of a commercial pen device. No commercial pen has been released with printed dose markings by Eli Lilly.

How many doses are in a retatrutide pen?

No FDA-approved commercial retatrutide pen exists as of May 2026, so doses-per-pen is not confirmed. The DailyMed "SALKALLI" grey-market entry (a Chinese export product, not a Lilly product) describes a 30mg prefilled pen. When approved, a format similar to tirzepatide's 4-dose KwikPen is widely anticipated but not officially confirmed by Eli Lilly.

When will the retatrutide pen be available to buy?

Phase 3 TRIUMPH-4 trial results were reported in December 2025, showing 28.7% weight loss at 68 weeks. Additional TRIUMPH trials continue through 2026. After Eli Lilly submits an NDA and FDA completes review (typically 10-12 months), a realistic US commercial availability window is 2027 at the earliest, contingent on trial data and Lilly's filing timeline.

Is the retatrutide pen on DailyMed FDA-approved?

No. The "SALKALLI retatrutide pen 30mg" entry on DailyMed is registered by Guangzhou Yixin Cross-border E-commerce Co., Ltd., a Chinese export company. Its marketing status is "export only." It is not manufactured by Eli Lilly and is not FDA-approved for use in the United States. DailyMed's presence of this label does not mean the drug or device is approved.

How do you inject retatrutide: pen or vial?

Currently, outside of clinical trials, retatrutide is accessed in grey-market/research-peptide channels as a lyophilized powder requiring reconstitution with bacteriostatic water and delivery via insulin syringe. Clinical trial participants receive it per trial protocol. A commercial pen format is expected at FDA approval, eliminating the reconstitution step. See the reconstitution guide for the current vial process.

Where do you inject retatrutide?

Subcutaneous injection sites for retatrutide are the abdomen, outer thigh, and upper arm, consistent with all GLP-1 class drugs. Rotate injection sites each week and do not inject into the same spot consecutively. For detailed technique guidance including site rotation schedules, see the retatrutide injection sites guide.

How does the retatrutide pen compare to the Zepbound KwikPen?

No direct comparison is possible because retatrutide has no FDA-approved commercial pen. Zepbound (tirzepatide) uses Eli Lilly's KwikPen auto-injector with 4 doses per pen, once-weekly subcutaneous injection. A similar Lilly auto-injector format for retatrutide is widely anticipated given the same developer and delivery route, but device specs are unconfirmed.

What is the best time of day to inject retatrutide?

Retatrutide is a once-weekly injection with an approximately 6-day half-life, meaning the time of day within a weekly cycle has minimal pharmacokinetic impact. Consistency matters more than a specific clock time. Choose a day and time you can maintain each week. Use the retatrutide calculator to visualize how dosing timing affects your concentration curves across the full titration schedule.

What are the risks of grey-market retatrutide pens?

Grey-market retatrutide pens have no FDA manufacturing oversight. Documented risks include inaccurate concentration labeling, contamination, counterfeit products with far-below-labeled potency, and improper cold-chain storage during shipping. The retatrutide quality crisis in the research-peptide market (2025-2026) includes confirmed counterfeit incidents. Clinical trial enrollment remains the only regulated access route for retatrutide.

Plan Your Retatrutide Protocol

Use the free retatrutide pharmacokinetic calculator to model your dose accumulation, steady-state timing, and weekly concentration curve, regardless of delivery format.

Open Retatrutide Calculator →

References

  1. Jastreboff AM, Kaplan LM, Frías JP, et al. Triple-Hormone-Receptor Agonist Retatrutide for Obesity: A Phase 2 Trial. New England Journal of Medicine. 2023;389(6):514-526. doi:10.1056/NEJMoa2301972
  2. Coskun T, Urva S, Roell WC, et al. LY3437943, a novel triple GIP, GLP-1 and glucagon receptor agonist for glycemic control and weight loss: From discovery to clinical proof of concept. Cell Metabolism. 2022;34(9):1234-1247.e9. doi:10.1016/j.cmet.2022.07.013
  3. Giblin K, et al. Retatrutide for the treatment of obesity, obstructive sleep apnea and knee osteoarthritis: TRIUMPH clinical development program rationale and design. 2026. PMID: 41090431. PubMed: 41090431
  4. ClinicalTrials.gov. NCT06383390: TRIUMPH-Outcomes: A Phase 3 Study to Investigate the Effect of Retatrutide on MACE and MAKE. Sponsor: Eli Lilly. Status: Active, not recruiting. clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT06383390
  5. DailyMed (NLM/NIH). SALKALLI retatrutide pen 30mg injection, solution. NDC 84778-108. Labeler: Guangzhou Yixin Cross-border E-commerce Co., Ltd. Export only. Marketing start: 2025-10-29. DailyMed label

Medical Disclaimer

Retatrutide is an investigational drug and is not FDA-approved for any indication as of May 2026. This article is for informational and educational purposes only. Nothing on this page constitutes medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment recommendations. GLP3Planner does not endorse the use of grey-market or unapproved drug products. Consult a licensed healthcare provider before starting, stopping, or changing any medication or injection protocol.